Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
View
Offline Justin  
#1 Posted : 21 July 2017 18:59:04(UTC)
Justin


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/02/2016(UTC)
Posts: 88
United Kingdom
Location: London

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 39 post(s)
Hi Guys
Has anyone had any problems with a DDE73 E series in boot mode?
I have tried 2 different DDEs and i have the same problem 'failed to write boot program into Tricore MCU' Error 8806.
The wiring pins are perfect and i have used the correct diagram for this EDC17CP09. I just tried another DDE 701 and that worked with no problems in boot mode.
Both DDE 73 are working properly on the bench and i can read ISN codes for both of them, but Autohex does not allow me to write ISN, even though these DDEs are read/write mode orientated.

Any help would be great guys because i cant go any further.

Thanks
** And before anyone suggests just writing the ISN into the CAS, I do not have the CAS unfortunately***

Edited by user 21 July 2017 19:08:14(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked Justin for this useful post.
Offline BMWorkshop  
#2 Posted : 21 July 2017 20:33:46(UTC)
BMWorkshop


Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 42
Ireland
Location: Dublin

Thanks: 192 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 12 post(s)
Just recently I tried the same thing on an EDC17cp02 and it would not write ISN into it. it will read it and sort of write it but when I would read it again after writing the old ISN would appear. Was told that it is not possible to write into those. and more it cannot be cloned! If some one knows how to clone or Write ISN into them I really would like to know how.
Offline Autohex_II_BMW  
#3 Posted : 22 July 2017 09:45:25(UTC)
Autohex_II_BMW


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator
Joined: 22/08/2015(UTC)
Posts: 581
United Arab Emirates
Location: Dubai

Thanks: 317 times
Was thanked: 622 time(s) in 325 post(s)
check all your connections and make sure you got a stable power supply.if you can read from ecu it should write without any flaw.
thanks 1 user thanked Autohex_II_BMW for this useful post.
Offline Levanime  
#4 Posted : 22 July 2017 12:39:37(UTC)
Levanime


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/06/2016(UTC)
Posts: 172
United States

Thanks: 72 times
Was thanked: 125 time(s) in 84 post(s)
I thought boot mode was not needed to write ISN in EDC17CP09 and you could write it over can

good to know!
thanks 1 user thanked Levanime for this useful post.
Offline Justin  
#5 Posted : 22 July 2017 16:11:23(UTC)
Justin


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/02/2016(UTC)
Posts: 88
United Kingdom
Location: London

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 39 post(s)
The problem is it Autohex will not read this ECU with boot mode. The connections are perfect and I have tried several of the same type od DDE, with no joy.

There is an issue somewhere that needs fixing, maybe it's something that support could have a look at.

If the wires were not connected properly, I would not get this error, there are other errors e.g when there is no power supply, the error says something about the 12v supply, if you attach the boot pin to a different area, the error message is 'short to ground'.

You only get this error when all wires are correct, but Autohex cannot read the MCU.

Thanks
thanks 1 user thanked Justin for this useful post.
Offline Autohex_II_BMW  
#6 Posted : 23 July 2017 05:14:01(UTC)
Autohex_II_BMW


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator
Joined: 22/08/2015(UTC)
Posts: 581
United Arab Emirates
Location: Dubai

Thanks: 317 times
Was thanked: 622 time(s) in 325 post(s)
You cannot write ISN by obd, then there is an issue in this DDE.
We have tested many part numbers for such DDE and there were no issue in read/write.
If you are always getting same error (8086) means your connection is good ( but maybe your power supply is not good), and Autohex cannot upload the boot program to the tricore memory.
thanks 1 user thanked Autohex_II_BMW for this useful post.
Offline BMWorkshop  
#7 Posted : 23 July 2017 23:28:13(UTC)
BMWorkshop


Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 42
Ireland
Location: Dublin

Thanks: 192 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 12 post(s)
What voltage and amperage do you use to write into ecu?
thanks 1 user thanked BMWorkshop for this useful post.
Offline Autohex_II_BMW  
#8 Posted : 24 July 2017 09:19:27(UTC)
Autohex_II_BMW


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator
Joined: 22/08/2015(UTC)
Posts: 581
United Arab Emirates
Location: Dubai

Thanks: 317 times
Was thanked: 622 time(s) in 325 post(s)
we are using 12 v and 2.5A. get good quality stable power source or try directly from battery.
Offline Justin  
#9 Posted : 24 July 2017 11:49:51(UTC)
Justin


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/02/2016(UTC)
Posts: 88
United Kingdom
Location: London

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 39 post(s)
We are using the same adaptor supplied to us by Microtronik with the rest of the boot mode equipment, which has worked on other ECUs in boot mode.

I seem to only have issues with these types of DME for some reason. I might try using a different power source, but I doubt it will make any difference.

Thanks
Offline Justin  
#10 Posted : 24 July 2017 17:55:02(UTC)
Justin


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/02/2016(UTC)
Posts: 88
United Kingdom
Location: London

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 39 post(s)
Ok, so i've changed the power supply using my bench supply that will provide upto 13.8v upto 70amps, and no change, Autohex will still not read the MCU through boot mode.
I've also just tried another 5 different DDE 73 units that i have in stock and still no boot mode read, all i get is the same error message.

Again, all will read ISN in normal bench mode, but none will write a new ISN, i keep getting the constant error 'failed to write ISN'.

I think the only way around this is if i can get hold of the CAS unit as there seems to be a problem with these DDEs in normal ISN write function, and also in boot mode. All other DME & DDE in boot mode seem to work, i have tried most types available.

Maybe 73 is an unlucky number!!!!

thanks 1 user thanked Justin for this useful post.
Offline Autohex_II_BMW  
#11 Posted : 24 July 2017 18:28:10(UTC)
Autohex_II_BMW


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator
Joined: 22/08/2015(UTC)
Posts: 581
United Arab Emirates
Location: Dubai

Thanks: 317 times
Was thanked: 622 time(s) in 325 post(s)
can you send picture for the pcb board to us via email.we have tested the same model many times and was working without any issue.
thanks 1 user thanked Autohex_II_BMW for this useful post.
Offline Justin  
#12 Posted : 24 July 2017 19:28:02(UTC)
Justin


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/02/2016(UTC)
Posts: 88
United Kingdom
Location: London

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 39 post(s)
I've just sent pictures to support.

Thanks
Offline Autohex_II_BMW  
#13 Posted : 25 July 2017 05:01:31(UTC)
Autohex_II_BMW


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator
Joined: 22/08/2015(UTC)
Posts: 581
United Arab Emirates
Location: Dubai

Thanks: 317 times
Was thanked: 622 time(s) in 325 post(s)
We have seen the photos, Same this DDE PCB is available, tested today and it works fine.
Will investigate more in the next 2 days, if we find something we will contact you.
thanks 2 users thanked Autohex_II_BMW for this useful post.
Offline Justin  
#14 Posted : 25 July 2017 14:32:51(UTC)
Justin


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/02/2016(UTC)
Posts: 88
United Kingdom
Location: London

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 39 post(s)
Thanks,

I just don't understand why I'm having the same issue with 7 different DDE 73 units.

It's very strange.

Thanks
Offline Justin  
#15 Posted : 25 July 2017 14:36:52(UTC)
Justin


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/02/2016(UTC)
Posts: 88
United Kingdom
Location: London

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 39 post(s)
I'm curious to see if any other users can try boot mode on a DDE 73 and let us know the results??

Also, if anyone has successfully wrote ISN, not in boot mode, but normal OBD. Reading is not a problem, just writing.

I just want to be able to compare notes guys.

Thanks

thanks 1 user thanked Justin for this useful post.
Offline BMWorkshop  
#16 Posted : 28 July 2017 00:02:58(UTC)
BMWorkshop


Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 42
Ireland
Location: Dublin

Thanks: 192 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 12 post(s)
20170726_163113.jpg (2,025kb) downloaded 31 time(s). 20170726_161841.jpg (1,346kb) downloaded 21 time(s). 20170726_155213.jpg (646kb) downloaded 19 time(s). 20170726_155200.jpg (1,490kb) downloaded 19 time(s).I tried again to write ISN into DDE without success. I can read ISN though. The ecu is from the car with vin c040479

Edited by user 28 July 2017 00:31:27(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked BMWorkshop for this useful post.
Offline Justin  
#17 Posted : 28 July 2017 14:53:15(UTC)
Justin


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/02/2016(UTC)
Posts: 88
United Kingdom
Location: London

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 53 time(s) in 39 post(s)
Hi mate

Yes, seems like the same issue, i'm still not getting any joy through boot mode either, and no write through normal OBD mode.
Let's hope support can look into this again, as there must be a solution.
thanks 1 user thanked Justin for this useful post.
Offline Gbyleveldt  
#18 Posted : 28 July 2017 18:06:30(UTC)
Gbyleveldt


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 02/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 88
South Africa
Location: South Africa

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 115 time(s) in 59 post(s)
I'm assuming your ecu is edc17cp09? That one uses TC1796, so ISN area isn't OTP. I don't have one here to test though.
Offline Autohex_II_BMW  
#19 Posted : 30 July 2017 02:17:46(UTC)
Autohex_II_BMW


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator
Joined: 22/08/2015(UTC)
Posts: 581
United Arab Emirates
Location: Dubai

Thanks: 317 times
Was thanked: 622 time(s) in 325 post(s)
The DDE you show has MCU TC1766 I guess. This is a fairly old DDE, no boot mode support.
Offline BMWorkshop  
#20 Posted : 30 July 2017 13:14:27(UTC)
BMWorkshop


Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 42
Ireland
Location: Dublin

Thanks: 192 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 12 post(s)
Ok. I would not think that ecu from 2008 is old! Would it be possible to get a comprehensive list of DDEs that can be done or not done? Thanks
Users browsing this topic
2 Pages12>