Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post
Offline Boosted_Eric  
#1 Posted : 16 March 2021 12:21:47(UTC)
Boosted_Eric


Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/12/2020(UTC)
Posts: 6
United States
Location: Florida

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 4 post(s)
When upgrading from msd80 or replacing another msd81, I receive a code (2ba2- Terminal 15 activation, deactivation) once car is started. Code can be cleared, but always returns after applying terminal 15 using the start button. This only happens with 535i software and I cannot find anything about this code or what causes this anywhere. Has anyone encountered this before or have any ideas how to fix this? Thanks.
Sponsor
HexTag/HexProg tool is the ultimate tool for Ecu Cloning/Ecu Tuning including MDG1 Ecu Cloning/MDG1 Ecu Tuning, BDM Read/write, Key renew and EEPROM Reset

Click here on HexTag for more info about HexProg Software

Offline abc123  
#2 Posted : 16 March 2021 21:31:29(UTC)
abc123


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/06/2019(UTC)
Posts: 105
Canada

Thanks: 28 times
Was thanked: 43 time(s) in 25 post(s)
Is coding OK?
Offline Autohex_II_BMW  
#3 Posted : 16 March 2021 23:57:38(UTC)
Autohex_II_BMW


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator
Joined: 22/08/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,500
United Arab Emirates
Location: Dubai

Thanks: 590 times
Was thanked: 1410 time(s) in 750 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Boosted_Eric Go to Quoted Post
When upgrading from msd80 or replacing another msd81, I receive a code (2ba2- Terminal 15 activation, deactivation) once car is started. Code can be cleared, but always returns after applying terminal 15 using the start button. This only happens with 535i software and I cannot find anything about this code or what causes this anywhere. Has anyone encountered this before or have any ideas how to fix this? Thanks.


try programming/coding for the ECU with autohex.
Offline Boosted_Eric  
#4 Posted : 18 March 2021 13:36:34(UTC)
Boosted_Eric


Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/12/2020(UTC)
Posts: 6
United States
Location: Florida

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Autohex_II_BMW Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Boosted_Eric Go to Quoted Post
When upgrading from msd80 or replacing another msd81, I receive a code (2ba2- Terminal 15 activation, deactivation) once car is started. Code can be cleared, but always returns after applying terminal 15 using the start button. This only happens with 535i software and I cannot find anything about this code or what causes this anywhere. Has anyone encountered this before or have any ideas how to fix this? Thanks.


try programming/coding for the ECU with autohex.


Thank you this worked. For anyone in the future, process is Indiv coding->engine electronics->advanced->Terminal 15 and change the value.
thanks 2 users thanked Boosted_Eric for this useful post.
Offline sixcode  
#5 Posted : 20 March 2021 01:27:59(UTC)
sixcode


Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 31/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 26

Thanks: 13 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Boosted_Eric Go to Quoted Post
When upgrading from msd80 or replacing another msd81, I receive a code (2ba2- Terminal 15 activation, deactivation) once car is started. Code can be cleared, but always returns after applying terminal 15 using the start button. This only happens with 535i software and I cannot find anything about this code or what causes this anywhere. Has anyone encountered this before or have any ideas how to fix this? Thanks.


how did you upgrade this?
by cloning or ?
Offline sixcode  
#6 Posted : 30 March 2021 04:06:14(UTC)
sixcode


Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 31/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 26

Thanks: 13 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Originally Posted by: sixcode Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Boosted_Eric Go to Quoted Post
When upgrading from msd80 or replacing another msd81, I receive a code (2ba2- Terminal 15 activation, deactivation) once car is started. Code can be cleared, but always returns after applying terminal 15 using the start button. This only happens with 535i software and I cannot find anything about this code or what causes this anywhere. Has anyone encountered this before or have any ideas how to fix this? Thanks.


how did you upgrade this?
by cloning or ?


no answer?
Offline abc123  
#7 Posted : 30 March 2021 21:47:26(UTC)
abc123


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 01/06/2019(UTC)
Posts: 105
Canada

Thanks: 28 times
Was thanked: 43 time(s) in 25 post(s)
Usually they only answer when they need help LOL.

Read the injector coding from MSD80, save. Read the ISN from MSD80, save. Write ISN to MSD81. Check part number and coding in MSD81. If coding OK, just update and code injectors. If coding not OK, reset HRS to 0 in MSD81 1st, then update and code injectors.

Done
thanks 3 users thanked abc123 for this useful post.
Offline Boosted_Eric  
#8 Posted : 31 March 2021 14:30:28(UTC)
Boosted_Eric


Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/12/2020(UTC)
Posts: 6
United States
Location: Florida

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Originally Posted by: sixcode Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: sixcode Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Boosted_Eric Go to Quoted Post
When upgrading from msd80 or replacing another msd81, I receive a code (2ba2- Terminal 15 activation, deactivation) once car is started. Code can be cleared, but always returns after applying terminal 15 using the start button. This only happens with 535i software and I cannot find anything about this code or what causes this anywhere. Has anyone encountered this before or have any ideas how to fix this? Thanks.


how did you upgrade this?
by cloning or ?


no answer?


First read new MSD81 core. Then you must adapt the CAS to that DME by matching the ISN. Next you would correct things like vin and mileage if needed. I have never run into any issues with coding not being ok, other than the Terminal 15 needing to be swapped.
thanks 2 users thanked Boosted_Eric for this useful post.
Offline sixcode  
#9 Posted : 01 April 2021 05:39:25(UTC)
sixcode


Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 31/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 26

Thanks: 13 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 4 post(s)
so "plane" clonig will not work as i read someware that pinout for msd80 and msd81 are exactly the same
Offline Boosted_Eric  
#10 Posted : 01 April 2021 08:44:48(UTC)
Boosted_Eric


Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/12/2020(UTC)
Posts: 6
United States
Location: Florida

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Originally Posted by: sixcode Go to Quoted Post
so "plane" clonig will not work as i read someware that pinout for msd80 and msd81 are exactly the same


No. The pinout is the same, but the internal hardware and software have some differences.
thanks 1 user thanked Boosted_Eric for this useful post.
Offline sixcode  
#11 Posted : 07 April 2021 23:42:48(UTC)
sixcode


Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 31/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 26

Thanks: 13 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 4 post(s)
sorry to bring this up "again" but is it posble to program/code this on bench so MSD80-->MSD81
"if" this can be done what is the procedure step by step in autohex2 ?

i have lately questions about this by my customers....
Offline Autohex_II_BMW  
#12 Posted : 08 April 2021 00:02:40(UTC)
Autohex_II_BMW


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator
Joined: 22/08/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,500
United Arab Emirates
Location: Dubai

Thanks: 590 times
Was thanked: 1410 time(s) in 750 post(s)
Originally Posted by: sixcode Go to Quoted Post
sorry to bring this up "again" but is it posble to program/code this on bench so MSD80-->MSD81
"if" this can be done what is the procedure step by step in autohex2 ?

i have lately questions about this by my customers....


For programming or coding on bench you need to use below connection along with CAS. Please note that the wiring is different from ON BENCH--->MSX8X ISN option. Make sure you connect wires correctly based on the wiring diagram shown. you can go inside coding/programming option using below connection to code or program.
HW4 CAS3.png (394kb) downloaded 8 time(s). HW4 MSV80.png (499kb) downloaded 12 time(s).
thanks 3 users thanked Autohex_II_BMW for this useful post.
Offline Boosted_Eric  
#13 Posted : 08 April 2021 08:41:51(UTC)
Boosted_Eric


Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 30/12/2020(UTC)
Posts: 6
United States
Location: Florida

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Originally Posted by: sixcode Go to Quoted Post
sorry to bring this up "again" but is it posble to program/code this on bench so MSD80-->MSD81
"if" this can be done what is the procedure step by step in autohex2 ?

i have lately questions about this by my customers....


Yes I do this all on my bench. This can be done as follows:

1. Read ISN from new MSD81 (make sure it is the correct software for that vehicle) also you will need to wire both the DME and CAS up to the autohex to access the DME. Be careful as the above shown diagram is for msv80. You will need msd81/80 diagram.
2. copy/write down the that isn from the MSD81
3. Rewrite ISN in CAS to match the one from the MSD81
4. You can change the Vin and reset the mileage through indiv coding I believe, but I've noticed that when all this is done through autohex and no other programs, the vin automatically changes.

This may not be 100% correct on how to properly do things as I generally use other software for isn reading because I can do both at the same time, but I've used this method before and it works.
thanks 1 user thanked Boosted_Eric for this useful post.
Offline sixcode  
#14 Posted : 09 April 2021 06:32:55(UTC)
sixcode


Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 31/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 26

Thanks: 13 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Boosted_Eric Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: sixcode Go to Quoted Post
sorry to bring this up "again" but is it posble to program/code this on bench so MSD80-->MSD81
"if" this can be done what is the procedure step by step in autohex2 ?

i have lately questions about this by my customers....


Yes I do this all on my bench. This can be done as follows:

1. Read ISN from new MSD81 (make sure it is the correct software for that vehicle) also you will need to wire both the DME and CAS up to the autohex to access the DME. Be careful as the above shown diagram is for msv80. You will need msd81/80 diagram.
2. copy/write down the that isn from the MSD81
3. Rewrite ISN in CAS to match the one from the MSD81
4. You can change the Vin and reset the mileage through indiv coding I believe, but I've noticed that when all this is done through autohex and no other programs, the vin automatically changes.

This may not be 100% correct on how to properly do things as I generally use other software for isn reading because I can do both at the same time, but I've used this method before and it works.


thanks but this is the way a used computer can be used, (if needed i do this but most of the time i repair the defective dme) im talking about real update from msd80 to msd81 so incl condig and correct software for the car
as you may know msd81 you will get if you order for a car with a msd80

i have bench harnas to to this all but i want the step by step procedure for the software update incl coding that is used in the msd81 when updating from a msd80 hardware
Offline Autohex_II_BMW  
#15 Posted : 10 April 2021 00:13:02(UTC)
Autohex_II_BMW


Rank: Advanced Member

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator
Joined: 22/08/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,500
United Arab Emirates
Location: Dubai

Thanks: 590 times
Was thanked: 1410 time(s) in 750 post(s)
Originally Posted by: sixcode Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Boosted_Eric Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: sixcode Go to Quoted Post
sorry to bring this up "again" but is it posble to program/code this on bench so MSD80-->MSD81
"if" this can be done what is the procedure step by step in autohex2 ?

i have lately questions about this by my customers....


Yes I do this all on my bench. This can be done as follows:

1. Read ISN from new MSD81 (make sure it is the correct software for that vehicle) also you will need to wire both the DME and CAS up to the autohex to access the DME. Be careful as the above shown diagram is for msv80. You will need msd81/80 diagram.
2. copy/write down the that isn from the MSD81
3. Rewrite ISN in CAS to match the one from the MSD81
4. You can change the Vin and reset the mileage through indiv coding I believe, but I've noticed that when all this is done through autohex and no other programs, the vin automatically changes.

This may not be 100% correct on how to properly do things as I generally use other software for isn reading because I can do both at the same time, but I've used this method before and it works.


thanks but this is the way a used computer can be used, (if needed i do this but most of the time i repair the defective dme) im talking about real update from msd80 to msd81 so incl condig and correct software for the car
as you may know msd81 you will get if you order for a car with a msd80

i have bench harnas to to this all but i want the step by step procedure for the software update incl coding that is used in the msd81 when updating from a msd80 hardware

you can do programming and coding for the ECU in autohex software.
Users browsing this topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.